Fun Activities to do in Stockholm

stockholm

Before I went to Stockholm, I only thought of it as just a big city in Europe with tall buildings and many people. I have have been there a few times now and it is all those things and even much more. The beautiful city made up of several islands, joined together by bridges and there are lots of places to visit and many fun things to do. Here are some of the places I would recommend you to visit

GAMLA STAN 

This is the Old Town of Stockholm with many sights and narrow streets. Here, I managed to visit the Royal Palace, Swedish parliament, cool restaurants and bars, museums etc.

the narrowest street in Stockholm

a view of Stockholm

 

 

 

 

 

 

 SKANSEN 

Skansen is an open air museum and zoo where I saw different kinds of animals like wolverine, lynx, moose, reindeer and many more animals I had never seen before.

inside of an old Swedish house

inside of an old Swedish house

I also got to learn the history of Swedish people and saw how they used to live in the olden days. There were things like their traditional dressing, housing, farming etc.

TAKE A BOAT OR BUS TOUR

When you visit Stockholm, you can decide to enjoy the city by boat or vehicle. Tickets are available for bus tours and they have information in different languages. The buses even have free WIFI. The fact that Stockholm is made up of islands, I found the boat tour a great way to explore the city. There are also walks with tour guides available like in Old Town.

MUSEUMS

There are many museums to visit in Stockholm and they showcase different things. you can visit museums like Fotografiska, Vasa, Nobel museum, Nordisk, the museum of modern art, Swedish army museum etc

stockholm museum

SHOPPING

There are many great places to shop for clothes, shoes, electronics and other things. They offer good quality products and they are pocket-friendly. Some of the common stores include H&M, Gina Tricot, Newyorker, Dinsko, Stadium, Net on Net, Siba etc There are also many shops you can buy souvenirs.

 FIKA

This is one of the first Swedish words I learnt when I arrived in Sweden. It means a coffee break with delicious pastries and catch up with friends or workmates. After a long day of touring, you can go to one of the many cafes and have fika.

fika

enjoying fika with a friend

It is very easy to go around the city as the tunnel banna connects most places. You can also use commuter trains, trams buses and even ferries. If you are not sure of which one to use, you can check on the internet or just ask for help like I did. I do hope you enjoy your time in the Swedish capital.

oldtown stockholm

oldtown

IMG_20150830_113527

Skansen

 

4 thoughts on “Fun Activities to do in Stockholm

  1. First, let me say I admire and respect you for traveling solo. I think it is such a freeing and empowering experience! Seconded, I really enjoyed this post. It was detailed but not too much so. It definitely sparked my interest to visit Stockholm. I also felt like I was on a journey with you. You photos are also lovely. I’m following and can’t wait to join your other adventures. – Cheryl

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

